Residency alumni assume leadership roles in their departments and institutions

Furthering the Columbia tradition of commitment to teaching, resident education and overall leadership, many of our graduates are involved in program leadership:

  • Harris Nagler ‘80
    Former Chairman of Department and President of Hospital (Beth Israel Medical Center)
  • Mitchell Benson ‘82
    Emeritus Chairman (Columbia)
  • Ihor Sawczuk ‘84
    Regional President of the Northern Market (Hackensack)
  • Steve Kaplan ‘88
    Director of Men’s Wellness Program (Mount Sinai)
  • Harry Koo ’93
    Chief of Pediatric Urology (Hackensack)
  • Bill Kennedy ‘95
    Chief of Pediatric Urology (Stanford)
  • Andy Kirsch ’96
    Chief of Division, Fellowship Director - Pediatric Urology (Emory)
  • James McKiernan ’99
    Chairman of Department (Columbia)
  • Mike Stifelman ‘99
    Chairman of Department (Hackensack)
  • John Taylor ‘00
    Director of Urologic Research (Kansas)
  • Kim Cooper ’02
    Residency Program Director (Columbia)
  • Debra Fromer ’03
    Chief of Division, Fellowship Director - Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery (Hackensack)
  • Zeph Okeke ‘06
    Fellowship Director - Endourology and Laparoscopy (Northwell)
  • Mark Katz ’07
    Fourth-Year Medical Student Clerkship Director (Boston University)
  • Jay Shah ’07
    Vice Chief of Staff (Stanford)
  • Preston Sprenkle ’09
    Chief of Urology, VA Connecticut Health Care System (Yale)
  • Alana Murphy ’10
    Associate Residency Program Director (Jefferson)
  • Trushar Patel ’12
    Residency Program Director (University of South Florida)
  • Gina Badalato ’13
    Medical Student Clerkship Director, Associate Residency Program Director (Columbia)
  • Rus Korets ’13
    Associate Residency Program Director (Beth Israel Deaconess)
  • Lara MacLachlan ’13
    Associate Residency Program Director (Lahey)
  • Chris Deibert ’14
    Residency Program Director (Nebraska)
  • Piruz Motamedinia ’14
    Associate Residency Program Director (Yale)